La Salle Chose You—-Now You Must Choose La Salle

(Morning Prayer offered on the Public Address system for the entire La Salle Academy educational community on Thursday, 18 May 2017)

Good Morning, La Salle!

Let us remember that we are in the presence of a loving God.

I had always been set on coming to La Salle since the time I was in the 6th grade.  It was around then when my father and grandfather started telling me about their own high school days when they came here as well.  It seemed like a cool idea that if I went to La Salle, I would be a third generation student.  So I used the last two years of middle school to work on my social, academic, and athletic abilities in hopes that, when I came to La Salle, I could offer it something in return for what I knew it would give to me.  After all, my dean Mr. McGinn said, “La Salle chose you, and now you must choose La Salle”.  You see, La Salle is not just merely the best college preparatory school in Rhode Island, rather, it has been the place where for the last four years, I developed my personality as a young adult and focused myself on the things I wish to achieve in the distant future.  And I can thank my family, teachers, coaches, and all of the new friends I have made for supporting me through it all and encouraging me to be my best every day.

I loved La Salle from day one.  Each and every day presented me with an opportunity to discover who I am as a person.  I learned that through hard work and discipline, it is possible to refine one’s self in a positive light.  The idea of constantly rising up to new challenges and giving a 200% effort each time says a whole lot about someone’s character.  My high school career has been marked by a record of successes and impressive milestones, both academic and athletic.  And as my senior year draws to a close, I look back on my experience and am happy because I can officially say that, “I chose La Salle” by involving myself within multiple aspects of our Lasallian community for the past four years.

At the end of the day, I learned that in order to succeed at anything, you must be supported by those around you.  It is the interactions between individuals that shape one’s character.  And whether you encounter someone who is nice or mean doesn’t really matter.  What is important is that we learn to see that God reflects His image through some aspect in every single human being.  So seniors, can you hold your heads up too and say that you chose La Salle?  The positive experience we have witnessed as the class of 2017 can only do us good for the rest of our lives.

Let us Pray…

Dear Lord, we thank you so much for our time here together.  For all the friends we have made, for all the days of laughter and fun, and for all the times of great discovery and learning. We thank you for all who have given of their energy and skill so that we can graduate:  our teachers and mentors, our family and loved ones.  As this chapter of our lives closes, so a new one begins.  We present ourselves like an open book before You.  Come and write your words of life into ours that we might eternally love and serve You this day and every day.  In your name we pray, Amen

Saint John Baptist de La Salle…..Pray for us

Live Jesus in our Hearts…. Forever

David Acciardo–Class of 2017

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *