Change Is Inevitable—Progress Is Optional

(Prayer offered on the Public Address system for the entire La Salle Academy educational community on Thursday morning, 9 November 2017)
Let us remember we are in the holy presence of a loving God….
As I was getting ready last night to head to the boys’ soccer game, I had to dig around in my basement for our box of scarves, hats, and gloves. When I came home and there was a fire going in our wood stove, I was reminded that the colder weather is probably here to stay. My favorite mountain is already making snow for the upcoming ski season and most of the leaves have fallen off the trees in our yard. Change is happening, whether we see it or not, and whether we like it or not. Around this time of the year I always think of the quote “change is inevitable, but progress is optional.”
Let us pray…
Just when we settle into a pattern,
things change far too quickly.
One door opens; and another one closes.
We rise, we eat, we sleep.
We smile, we laugh, and we cry.
Change itself is ever changing and if I’m truthful, I don’t always like change,
Because I desire the control.
Will you forgive my lack of understanding that Your creation of seasons is exquisite?
Would you remind me that the ebb and flow of life is rippled by the gifts of love and laughter?
And that life is measured by memories, not minutes?
May the season of change fuel me forward
with renewed perspective.
St. John Baptist de La Salle, pray for us.
Live Jesus in our hearts, forever.
Morgan Kane–Math Teacher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *