Memories of an Amazing Community

(Prayer offered on the Public Address system for the entire La Salle Academy educational community on Tuesday morning, 12 May 2015)

Let us pause and remember we are in God’s holy presence.

When Mr. Daly asked me to write a prayer reflecting on my time at La Salle, I wasn’t really sure what to talk about. As I started to think back on my high school memories, I realized there were so many things that I don’t think I would have been able to experience if I was at any other school. From dressing up in crazy clothes to go a to game, to running around Spain on a scavenger hunt for my Spanish class trip, to finding an encouraging note on every student’s desk in homeroom, to just spending my Wednesday afternoons at Meeting Street with the students, I realized that this type of community is not easy to come by.

LaSalle chapter 2012 and 2013

One of my favorite memories that happened just a few weeks ago fully shows this community of celebrating each other’s accomplishments and talents. After the Senior Class saw the play Grease in the morning, we all went to the cafeteria for lunch where songs from the musical were playing. As the seniors who played Danny and Sandy began to sing Summer Nights it eventually evolved into a duet on top of the tables while everyone was singing along. Eventually dancing broke out as the song Greased Lightning came on and Kenickie headed to the center of the cafeteria to do his infamous dance move. As I’m sure most of us have wished our school could be like the Disney movie High School Musical, I never thought I would actually be a part of something so close to it.

LSA-173584-28885246

It’s these moments that make me know that I’m going miss La Salle. It isn’t at many schools that there is such a sense of community in the student body. This community is a result of the dedication and hard work of Mrs. Kelly, the teachers, and the Student Council who provide us with the opportunities to support each other and get to know each other through various events and it is something that I will never forget and will always be grateful for.

Beyond that, I am thankful for the chance to be put outside my comfort zone through service opportunities, and to be pushed to my full potential academically. La Salle has taught me so much about myself, my faith, and how to be a member of an amazing community. I may not know what the future holds, but I know no matter where I end up I will always remember the friendships and memories I have made and the teachers I have met during my time here.

Go-Forward-Pope-Francis-Quote

If I could give any advice to the underclassmen, it would be to enjoy these moments, and participate in all the opportunities the faculty and your peers make possible. Your time at La Salle is going to fly by and, before you know it, you’ll be the one graduating in a few weeks.

making-the-most-of-time

Let us pray.

Dear Lord,
Please help the seniors to make the most of the little time they have left at La Salle and help the underclassmen to take advantage of all the opportunities they have to make their high school experience unforgettable.

St John Baptist de La Salle…. pray for us.
Live Jesus in our hearts…. forever.

Abigail Sawyer–Class of 2015

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *