What More Did You Want From Me?

(Prayer offered on the Public Address system for the entire La Salle Academy educational community on Thursday morning, 14 April 2016)

Let us remember we are in the holy presence of God’s love.

There was a very pious man who was caught in rising floodwaters.  When the water reached his doorstep a neighbor came by in a rowboat and said, “The water is rising, get in my boat and we’ll paddle to safety.”

“No thank you,” replied the religious man. “I have faith in God and I’m sure he will save me.”

The waters continued to rise and the man retreated to the second floor of his house.  A short time later the police came by in a boat. “The waters will soon be above your house. Get in and we’ll take you to safety.”

“No thanks,” replied the religious man. “I have faith in God and I’m sure he will save me.”

But the waters continued to rise until the man had to crawl onto his rooftop.  Just then a helicopter hovered overhead, let down a rope ladder and said. “The waters will soon swallow you up. Climb the ladder and we’ll fly you to safety.”

“No thanks,” replied the religious man. “I have faith in God and I’m sure he will save me.”

The floodwaters continued to rise, until soon they reached above the roof and the religious man drowned. When he arrived at heaven he demanded an audience with God. Ushered into God’s throne room he said, “Lord, I am a pious man.  I have faith.  I trusted that you would save me, so why am I here in heaven?”

“My son” replied the Lord. “I sent you two boats and a helicopter—what more did you want from me?”

flood20cartoon20low1

So often in life when we find ourselves in need, we expect God to reach out and directly help us through our struggles.  We think the clouds will part, there will be doves and harp music and the great white light will shine on us alone.  It is these times we fail to see God working through our neighbors.  Today, let us look for God on the faces and in the hearts of our brothers and sisters.  Let us also strive to be God’s love for others in our community so that we can experience God in our lives through service and compassion for one another.

homeless

Let us pray

Dear Lord, Everything I am today is a gift from you, Everything I can be tomorrow is my gift to myself.

Saint John Baptist de La Salle…pray for us.

Live Jesus in our hearts…forever.

Brian Ciccone—Social Studies Teacher

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *